Saturnismus

[lead poisoning]

Karhumäki train station

I mentioned before that I would like to make some Karelian terrain and that I’d like to do a train station.

As I’ve searched for pictures I have come to conclusion that one of the most photographed station is the one in Karhumäki (Medvezhegorsk), so I’ve started making a model by first making a Google SketchUp model of the building.

This is my first project in SketchUp and I must say its pretty fun, I’m not claiming this to be an 100% correct representation but it’s pretty close.

I’m going to make it a bit smaller than in reality since it would take up a third of a table in the correct 1/100 dimensions.

Karhumäki train station Google SketchUp WIP

Karhumäki train station in 1942(?) (Picture from heninen.net)

2 responses to “Karhumäki train station

  1. widgren February 10, 2011 at 14:11

    kan man få en kopia på sketchupfilen? jag hade gärna testat att göra en mall för en pappersmodell av den där.
    widgren@gmail.com
    fina finnar, btw. min morfar var med i vinterkriget och krigade. det var hårda killar de där finnarna..

    • saturnismus February 10, 2011 at 19:05

      Javisst, jag kan ta och mejla den bara jag hittar igen den.
      Den är dock långt ifrån färdig, ett av alla mina halvfärdiga projekt…
      Tanken med ritningen var just att göra en pappersmodell, men jag lyckades aldrig få ut några 2D ritningar ur modellen, det kräver visst Pro versionen av Sketch-up.
      Sedan tror jag att jag borde börja med en enklare byggnad, har suttit länge och funderat på det där tornet….

Leave a Reply

